SGA Holds First Meeting of 2015-16 Session

In its first meeting of the 2015-16 session, Frostburg State University’s Student Government Association discussed its goals and priorities for Fall 2015.

SGA President Katelyn Currier begins the 2015-16 Senate’s first meeting. (Brad Kroner/TBL)

SGA President Katelyn Currier said that the previous administration, led by Katie Morgan, “did a great job,” but it’s time for newly-elected SGA senators to effect change on campus. Currier was Morgan’s vice president.

“I just want all of us to put new life into SGA,” Currier said.

SGA Senator Chanel Taylor, who chairs the governance committee, said “There’s a lot of things to change” in the constitution, and a constitutional overhaul is planned for the Fall 2015 semester. Taylor is considering an amendment that would make changes to the election process and the campaign requirements.

Treasurer Nick DeMichele said SGA will review the event funding process, specifically deciding what events merit funding from SGA and why.

Further fiscal examinations will occur concerning operationally funded organizations like BSA, as well as SGA projects like SafeRide, to ensure the accountability and financial responsibility of these organizations.

For the 2015-16 academic year, SGA funded BSA for $37,790, and Saferide for $28,891. SGA’s total budget is $169,562.

Senator Joseph Fallon, who chairs the public relations committee, will work with FSU’s social marketing team to strengthen SGA’s presence on social media and .

SGA will meet seven times in Fall 2015. Dates and times have not yet been decided. Meetings are held in the Atkinson Room.

“This year, we’re going to have a lot of things coming at us,” Currier said. “It’s time to show what SGA is all about.”


Below is a list of SGA’s members:


President: Katelyn Currier

Vice President: James Kirk

Treasurer: Nick DeMichele

Secretary: Chantal Dones


On Campus Senator:

April Kinyua

Kane Samuel

Kennedy Decator (Student Affairs Chair)

Valerie Ehimhen

Myles Burgess

Mia Williams

Brandy Barnes


Off Campus Senators:

Brianna Hopkins

Kristine Eskridge

Kanja Kabbany

Hannah Elliott

Wolde Jordon

Naomi Orevba

Seth Bagley


At Large Senators:

Jared Turner

Tori Glass (Finance Chair)

Harmoni Johnson

Chanel Taylor (Governance Chair)

Dasia Scott

Joseph Fallon (Public Relations Chair)


Transfer Senator:

Megan Schoepfer


Non-Traditional Senator:

Victor Rising


Featured picture credited to Brad Kroner/The Bottom Line.

Previous post

Center for Creative Writing Wraps Up Spring Readings with Musician and Author Frank Portman

Next post

Men's Lacrosse Finishes Season, Strong Core for Next Season